Skip to content

Music and Emotions

July 27, 2007
by

One of the interesting things I’ve noticed recently (although this knowledge has always been there) is how music affects the emotions.  I was listening to All Songs Considered, and was freshly made aware of how moving Gregorian chant is.  It is amazing how great vocal harmonies can move someone to tears.  I was amazed once again of how God has created us enjoy music – something that animals have no understanding of.  We are moved to joy, sorrow, anger, or confusion just by the way a song is constructed.

I believe I have learned something interesting about music lately – there is something ethereal to the human voice, something that cannot be duplicated with an instrument.  I’ve noticed that only voices tend to put a chill down my spine, and only voices tend to move me to tears of beauty.  I’m not sure if this is just how I appreciate music, or if this is a more universal experience, but I know that for me, while instruments are effective, voice is much more effective, especially when arranged in a choral arrangement (although a single, mournful voice can also be chilling if done correctly).  Well composed music, I’ve noticed, can combine the voice and the instrumentals to make a truly awe inspiring performance.

What an amazing God – to create something like music, that moves us on such a deep level.  We are truly and undeservedly blessed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

