Skip to content

One of Those Days

August 14, 2007
by

Ever have one of “those days”?  You know, the kind where nothing quite goes right?  I had one this evening.  I had been planning to pick up tickets for a concert I want to go to in September.  The box office is located in Baltimore.  I work near Baltimore Washington International airport, which is a short distance from Baltimore.  To make a long story short, I had an hour to get there, and should have been there in 15-25 minutes.  I instead ended up taking an hour, getting lost, and ultimately got there after the box office closed, only to face a longer than usual commute back home.

Now those of you who think I’m griping about nothing of consequence are completely right.  In fact, I should be thankful that this is pretty much the worst I have it – not getting to a random box office on time to buy tickets when I can try again later this week.  What’s the worst that could happen?   I could miss a concert that, while fun, isn’t going to affect me eternally at all.  This isn’t going to make or break me.

After all, James says the following (James 1:2-4):

Count it all joy, my brothers, [2] when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

God is producing the faith he wants in me through trials of various kinds – even the mild ones I am going through right now.  I can’t imaging how God is working to produce steadfastness in many of the people I know who are suffering much more than I am.  However, instead of complaining about having “one of those days”, I should see one of these days as a way that God is producing steadfastness in me, moving me toward that place where I will be “perfect and complete, lacking in nothing”.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

