Skip to content

I NEED this

August 31, 2007
by

“I need a new cell phone.”

“I need a new car.”

“I need time by myself right now.”

Ever notice how our thoughts and words betray an urgency that is really not warranted? How many times have I claimed to “need” something, when really, it is just a strong desire, not a true need. When we talk of needing things, we betray through our words that we think that our lives will be incomplete without them, when in reality, we have our needs provided for by Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:19 says “And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.” He won’t supply some needs, or most needs, but all needs.

Do you need salvation? I do! It is provided! Food, clothing, shelter are richly provided. All we need to live godly lives is provided as well. Why claim to “need” things, when they are only things we desire?  I believe that we should limit this word to things we truly need.  I hope to notice when I say to myself or others, “I need that”, and to instead say “I’d like that”, for my needs are provided for.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

