Skip to content

Brett Favre and Numbering My Days

March 6, 2008
by

Brett Favre is retiring, or at least he is at the moment.  Even if he decides to come back, there will come a time when Favre will not return.  You may be wondering, “who cares about an NFL quarterback for a team I don’t care about?”  Well, it may not matter for you.  However, Favre has an interesting significance for me.

Favre began playing for the Green Bay Packers in 1992 – in fact, he faced my favorite team, the Pittsburgh Steelers, that year in a game that began his record streak of consecutive games started as an NFL quarterback.   In 1992 I was ten years old, and was just starting to care about football.  The Pittsburgh Steelers had just hired a new coach, and had played well that year.  Excitement for the local team was up, and I was at the right age to get swept up as a die hard Steeler fan.

As a result of all of this, I started getting books about football during the next few years.  One of these books described several major players in the NFL at the time, and gave a brief biography of each player aimed at 2nd or 3rd graders.  I read this book several times, and even stuck a glow in the dark spider sticker on it to show it was in my “library”.  One of the first players profiled in this book was Brett Favre (the only other one I remember was Drew Bledsoe).  At that time, he was a young, up and coming star in the NFL – to my young mind, he was one of these adults who did things I could never dream of.  Of course, you couldn’t help hearing about Brett Favre if you followed football at all throughout his career.  The man became a fixture around the league.

Now, fast forward to the present time.  The NFL stars are starting to be peers age wise, although they still do things I can only dream of doing.  I am used to stars coming and going in the league – it is the way of things.  However, I can still count on Brett Favre suiting up with that green number 4 jersey each year, and that connection to my childhood is maintained; or at least it was until Favre’s retirement.  With Favre gone, I am reminded that all of the football players I grew up watching are too old to play football now.  Without Brett Favre, I realize, the NFL has totally changed since I was a child.  This fact sobers me.  It reminds me that I am no longer a boy – that it has been 17 years since the year I started hearing about Brett Favre.  17 years have passed by – a large percentage of my life.  This event reminds me that we all get older – Favre cannot get himself worked up to play football anymore – a sign that we all age.  In short, Brett Favre’s retirement reminds me that I need to be living for God, not wasting my life.  I only have a limited time on this earth.  I need to use it well.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2008 4:14 pm

    great post brando.
    truth.
    i totatlly identify with your thoughts and observations on this. it certianly is sobering to realize my life is marching onward. Makes me ask “am I doing something that’s making a difference? in light of eternity?” or am I just passing my days and living for what pleases me?

  2. Dad permalink
    March 7, 2008 1:09 am

    Bran,
    If that makes you think your life is passing you by, how about your father? There are no peers my age playing football, not even touch. I thank God that you have the perspective of serving God with your life at your young age. I can see God doing mighty things through you.
    Paprika

  3. April 7, 2008 5:20 pm

    I know the feeling. You wake up one day and wonder where time went, how you got to be that age. It’s sobering to realize that you no longer have your whole life stretching out in front of you. So the decisions we make today will really have an impact. Life is so much more enjoyable when you feel you are making a contribution.

Leave a Reply

