Skip to content

Trip Down Memory Lane

April 6, 2008
by

Here’s a tip for some fun remembering your youth if you between 20-29 (or so) and watched PBS – particularly if you were a nerd like me who loved to learn stuff.

1. Go to Google.

2. Type in the words “Carmen Sandiego”.

3. Click the video link

4. Revel in the goodness.

That show (Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego) was seriously awesome. (The computer games were sweet too.) One of the things that surprised me is how hard the questions still are. The first and third rounds of the game show could be brutal – the questions aren’t easy, even for this well educated 25 year old! This game was designed to reward smartness, and if you won, you got a pretty sweet prize (a trip to the lower 48 states).

I remember as a kid really wanting to be on the show. It never happened, but I did get to play the computer game, which was also difficult. Even now, watching the YouTube videos, I am impressed at how much that game affected my knowledge of geography.

Of course, what made that show was Rockapella, the in house a cappella band that chimed in almost constantly, and were very funny. They had to be the best part of the whole thing.

I am struck that such a game show probably wouldn’t make it today, which is sad, really. But Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego was a great show, and I remember it fondly.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2008 12:39 am

    Heheh… funny! 😀

  2. Dad permalink
    April 7, 2008 1:17 am

    I really liked the show also. My favorite part was the theme song!!!

  3. April 7, 2008 8:58 pm

    oh man. somehow “Carmen” has come up a lot in conversation lately… weird. and sooo sooo good!

  4. April 14, 2008 5:51 pm

    I LOVED that show. and every time I went to the library, I’d play that game on their computers 🙂

Leave a Reply

