Skip to content

And They Became To Me A Joy

April 28, 2008
by

“Your words were found, and I ate them, and they became to me a joy and the delight of my heart, for I am called by your name, O Lord God of hosts.” Jeremiah 15:16

They became to me a joy.  God’s words didn’t start out being a joy.  In my own life, I remember God’s Word not being particularly fun to read.  I knew as a kid that I SHOULD like to read the Bible, but never really wanted to do it.

However, as I started reading the Word, as I began seeing what it was the Bible was talking about, I can truly say that God’s Words became a joy, and that they became the delight of my heart.  Not that they are always the delight of my heart – there are days when I really don’t feel like reading the Bible.  However, I can say that now I love the Word of God more than ever.  I believe that it takes time for God’s Words to become a joy – that something supernatural happens when we read them as a Christian, and whether it takes hours or years, they become something that we cannot imagine living without.

This passage also indicates that God’s Words become a joy because God has called us.  Again, many people read the Bible, and they don’t understand why others love it.  They do not see God’s Word as a joy, but as a bore, or as something that should be avoided because it teaches backward ideas.  It takes God working in their lives, changing them into followers of Christ, before they see God’s Word as the amazing book that it is.

I hope and pray that we can all make God’s Word a joy, and the delight of our hearts.  

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 28, 2008 12:22 pm

    thanks for your enocuraging thoughts over the past few days. they have been very helpful to me as I’ve been processing through the same verse.

Leave a Reply

