Skip to content

Prince Caspian, the Movie

May 18, 2008
by

Well, Prince Caspian came out, and Stephen saw it.  I’ve seen two main reactions after seeing it: one like Stephen’s, which is pretty much summed up by saying “I hated it”, and then the “it was enjoyable but” crowd.  I’m more with the second crowd myself.  I mostly expected to see some deviance from the plot, because a huge flashback at the beginning of the movie (which is how Prince Caspian is told in the book) wasn’t going to work too well.  I think the main gripes I had were as follows (some spoilers will follow if you click continue):

1.  The whole “Susan has a crush on Caspian” story.  Wasn’t too appreciative of that.

2.  The timing of the blowing of Queen Susan’s horn.  It was much too early.  I understood why they did it (because if they waited, they would have had huge movie pacing problems), but I still disliked it.

3.  The weird way Lucy discovered the path into the gorge.  In the books, it is clear she is following Aslan, not looking for where he was while he was invisible.

4.  Turning Trumpkin from a skeptical but likable Dwarf into an awkward junior high school student.

However, I had some things I liked as well:

1.  Reepicheep.  He was awesome.  He pretty much made that movie.  Watching Telmarines fall suddenly after yelling and looking down at something you can’t see down there was great.

2.  Seeing the Bulgy Bear suck his paws during the competition between Peter and Miraz.  Even though they didn’t bring him up, they did show him officiating and looking ridiculous.  You have to be a real Narnia nerd to be looking for that if it wasn’t mentioned.

3.  The trees.  Enough said.

4.  How the point of the story was made.  One of the central Christian themes in Caspian is, as I mentioned a few days ago, trust in God when he isn’t doing what you expect him to.  As Aslan says, things never go the same way twice, although we as humans tend to expect them to.  Aslan’s chiding of Lucy for not coming alone (which she really did this time) was a good lesson, I think.

So all in all, I enjoyed it.  I will always like the book better, though.  In the end, this movie was an enjoyable ride that I’ll only be willing to watch a few times.  And this definitely clinches my previous position that I will read the books to my kids first, before having them see the movies.  Over time, the changes in the timeline are going to bother me more and more.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 4, 2008 6:03 pm

    the makers of Prince Caspian kept to the original story better than i would have expected… i had heard they were going to make it into a silly pure-action flick, but thankfully this was not the case

Leave a Reply

