Skip to content

In Defense of the Necktie

June 16, 2008
by

I love Boundless, both their main website and their blog.  However, seeing this post declaring “Death to the Necktie” marked one of the few times I have been disappointed in a Boundless writer.

Now, I’m not a necktie fanatic, as those around me would tell you.  I do not go out of my way to wear a tie.  In fact, there was a time when I also wondered at the utility of this fashion accessory.  Why on earth did they invent a piece of clothing that seemed to start the process of hanging for you, anyway?  However, in recent years, I have come to a different point of view on this matter.

First of all, everyone looks classier with a tie than without one.  It is a simple fact.  I agree that this is cultural, but you say that like its a BAD thing.  Some cultural things are good, after all, and I think that the necktie is among them.

Secondly, politicians and journalists still wear ties much more often then they do not.  Ties will not die in this country until this trends down.  The same can be said of weddings – the groom and his party wear ties, and most men in attendance wear them as well.

Ties convey the idea that you took the time to complete your outfit.  A well picked tie shows your sense of fashion, and that you have an idea of what looks good.  It conceals the buttons on your shirt, and makes the whole ensemble look great.  While I don’t mind not wearing a tie to work, if I get promoted to the point where it makes sense to wear a tie, I would gladly do so.

All this to say, don’t wish for the tie’s demise.  It may be a bit inconvenient, but it makes up for it in the statement you make about how you value your appearance.  

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 16, 2008 5:49 pm

    a greed.
    I wrote in with some similar comments of my own.

Leave a Reply

